English Chinese (Traditional) Spanish Vietnamese


      Hugh Poole
      CSBG Program Manager
      Ph: (785) 217-2044
      Fax: (785) 232-8084


      Find answers to
      frequently asked

Forms and Publications

      View the CSBG State Plan,
      policy manual, certifications
      and other important forms.

Additional Resources

      Find additional CSBG
      resources to fight
      poverty in your

What CSBG Does

The Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) provides core funding for the nation’s only poverty fighting network and is a primary source of identity for more than a thousand Community Action Agencies at work in rural and urban communities across America.  There are eight Community Action Agencies within the State of Kansas.  Seven are private, not-for-profit organizations.  The eighth is a governmental entity.  All leverage funds from Federal, State and local governments and receive grants and gifts from private foundations and individual donors for the purpose of ameliorating the causes and effects of poverty.

Responds to Local Needs

Because each Community Action Agency is locally governed by volunteer Boards of Directors or, in the case of public entities, Administering Boards, the agencies are responsive to local needs. Each provides a different mix of programs, services and initiatives. All, however, are guided by six overarching national goals.

  * Low-Income People Become More Self-Sufficient
  * The Conditions in Which Low-Income People Live are Improved
  * Low-Income People Own a Stake in Their Community
  * Partnerships Among Supporters and Service Providers are Achieved
  * Agencies Increase their Capacity to Achieve Results
  * Vulnerable Individuals Achieve their Potential by Strengthening Family & Other Supportive Systems

How CSBG Works

As authorized by Congress, CSBG is administered by the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).  HHS allocates CSBG funds to States and Territories.  By law, at least 90 percent of the State’s CSBG allocation must be allocated to local “eligible entities”.  An eligible entity, usually a Community Action Agency, is one that has maintained a historic designation or has been newly designated by the State to serve an unserved area.

KHRC is the lead agency for the Kansas Community Services Block Grant. The corporation receives and distributes the Federal resource and provides oversight for CSBG subgrantees. KHRC uses no more than 5 percent of the State’s allocation to administer CSBG; the remaining amount is used at the State’s discretion for projects and activities that meet the intent of CSBG legislation.

Kansas Community Action Agencies

Community Action, Inc.
Tawny Stottlemire, CCAP, Executive Director
PO Box 5256 - 455 SE Golf Park Blvd
Topeka, Kansas 66605
(785) 235-9561

CSBG Service Area: Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Geary, Lincoln, McPherson,  Ottawa, Russell,  Saline, Shawnee and Wabaunsee Counties


Mid-Kansas Community Action Program
Joyce Stockham, CCAP, Executive Director
730 Cliff Drive
Augusta, Kansas 67010-1349
(316) 775-3000

CSBG Service Area: Barber, Butler, Chase, Clark, Comanche, Cowley, Edwards, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Kiowa, Marion, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Stafford and Sumner Counties

East Central Kansas Economic Opportunity Corp
Richard Jackson, CCAP, CEO
PO Box 40 – 1320 S. Ash Street, Suite 203
Ottawa, Kansas 66067-0040
(785) 242-7450

CSBG Service Area: Anderson, Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Miami, Morris, Lyon and Osage Counties


Northeast Kansas Community Action Program
Jeanette Collier, CCAP, Executive Director
PO Box 380 – 1260 220th Street
Hiawatha, Kansas 66434-0380
(785) 742-2222

CSBG Service Area: Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Leavenworth, Marshall, Mitchell, Nemaha, Osborne, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Smith and Washington Counties

Economic Opportunity Foundation
Rita Adams, Executive Director
1542 Minnesota
Kansas City, Kansas 66102-4512
(913) 371-7800

CSBG Service Area: Wyandotte County



Southeast Kansas Community Action Program
Steve Lohr, Executive Director
PO Box 128 – 401 N. Sinnet
Girard, Kansas 66743-0128
(620) 724-8204

CSBG Service Area: Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson Counties

Harvest America Corporation
Terri Bookless, CCAP, Executive Director
6025 Martway, Suite 101
Mission, Kansas  66202
(913) 342-2121

CSBG Service Area: Barton, Cheyenne, Decatur, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearney, Lane, Logan, Meade, Morton, Ness, Norton, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Rush, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Trego, Wallace and Wichita Counties


Wichita Sedgwick County Community Action Partnership (WSCCAP)
Michelle Cole Rucker, Manager
332 North Riverview
Wichita, Kansas 67203
(316) 462-3700

CSBG Service Area: Sedgwick County




Latest News

The FY2018 CSBG Model State Plan FINAL VERSION is now available

The revised Kansas CSBG Manual of Policies and Procedures is available for public comment 8/27/18 through 9/25/18.  


CSBG Kansas Fact Sheet

State Fact Sheets showcase the results and outcomes produced by the CSBG Network in Fiscal Year 2014. View the Kansas Fact Sheet which provides demographics of families served, linkages and partnerships and uses of CSBG funds.

611 S. Kansas Avenue, Suite 300 Topeka, KS 66603-3803 Voice:785-217-2001 Fax:785-232-8084 TTY:800-766-3777
Contact Us | Site Map | Printable View | © 2008 - 2019 KHRC | Powered by mojoPortal