Kansas Housing awards $1.8 million to help families access safe, affordable homes

 Twelve Community, Housing Organizations to Share Tenant-Based Rental Assistance 

TOPEKA – Kansas families have a better shot at accessing quality, affordable housing thanks to $1.8 million in rental assistance from Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC). The funds, made possible through KHRC’s Tenant-Based Rental Assistance Program (TBRA), will be split between 12 non-profit organizations and public housing authorities across the state.  

“Last year, TBRA funding helped 760 Kansas families access safe, stable housing,” said Christine Reimler, KHRC’s TBRA program director. “Program funds help families avoid eviction and homelessness, so they can focus on long-term self-sufficiency goals like education and employment.”

Funded through the federal HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) and administered by KHRC, TBRA helps income-eligible households afford rental subsidies, utility deposits, and security deposits. TBRA grants are awarded annually based on a community's housing needs, the number of households estimated to be served, and the organization's experience in administering TBRA funding. Public housing authorities and nonprofit organizations may apply for grants of up to $300,000.

The recipients of this year’s TBRA awards are as follows:





Bert Nash CMHC/Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority


Gallal Obeid


City of Lawrence & Douglas County

Compass Behavioral Health


Carla Caraveo


Ford & Finney Counties

City of Ellsworth


DeAnne Hoch


City of Ellsworth & Ellsworth County

Harvest America Corporation


Terri Bookless


Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearney, Kiowa, Lane, Meade, Morton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Seward, Scott, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, and Wichita Counties

City of Independence, Kansas


Molly Wright




City of Independence

Mental Health Association of South Central Kansas


Megan Bruce



Northeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.


Kristy Morey


Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Marshall, and Nemaha Counties

Northwest Kansas Housing, Inc.


Ruth Deines


Cheyenne, Decatur, Ellis, Gove, Graham, Logan, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Russell, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Trego, and Wallace Counties

City of Pittsburg


Megan Keener


City of Pittsburg

Southeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.


Janet Swor


Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson Counties

Southwest Guidance Center


Nate Miller


Meade, Haskell, Seward, and Stevens Counties

Wyandot Center BHC


Shevella Gatson


Wyandotte County





































To learn more or apply for rental assistance, please contact your city or county’s TBRA grantee.


Kansas Housing Resources Corporation is a public corporation that finances and develops affordable housing opportunities for low and moderate-income Kansans. We serve as the state’s primary administrator of federal housing programs. For more information about KHRC’s Tenant-Based Rental Assistance Program, please contact Christine Reimler at 785-217-2023 or visit our website at  www.kshousingcorp.org.