English Chinese (Traditional) Spanish Vietnamese

Program Forms

      Download general
      program forms,
      applications, policies
      and manuals.

Tenant Based Rental Assistance Program

Tenant Based Rental Assistance (TBRA) is a program designed to help income-eligible households with rent, security deposit, and/or utility deposit programs. Assistance in the form of a rental payment helps reduce a household’s rent to only 30 percent of their income.  The amount above 30 percent is paid directly to the landlord on behalf of the household. Security or utility deposits may be in the form of a loan or a grant. 

Contact Information




Bert Nash


                    City of Lawrence and Douglas County

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits


Charlotte Knoche: 785-842-8110
or Carla Helm: 785-830-1706

Compass Behavioral Health


Ford and Finney Counties

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits
  Khristy Guebara: 620-275-9434

City of Ellsworth
$50,000 City of Ellsworth

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits
  DeAnne Hoch: 785-472-5110

Harvest America


Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kiowa, Lane, Meade, Morton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Scott, Seward, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens and Wichita Counties

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits


John Miles: 913-342-2121



City of Independence

Rental Assistance


April Nutt or Molly Wright: 620-332-2536

Manhattan Public Housing Authority


Pottawatomie and Riley Counties

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits


Kari Moore: 785-776-8588

Northeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.


Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson,
Jefferson, Marshall and Nemaha Counties

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits

  Kristy Morey: 785-742-2222, ext. 156


$100,000 Crawford County

Security Deposits

  Lacie Cottrell: 620-232-1210


Riley County Public Housing Authority

$100,000 Riley, Pottawatomie, Wabaunee, Geary, Dickinson, Mitchell, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Marion, Morris, Ottawa, Republic and Saline County

Security and Utility Deposits

  Jolynn Colberg: 785-776-9294


Salina Housing Authority

$100,000 City of Salina

Rental Assistance, and Security Deposits

  Nichole Carney: 785-827-0441

Southeast Kansas Community Action Program


Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson
and Woodson Counties

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits


Timi Houghton: 620-724-8204, ext. 1004

SW Guidance Center

$150,000 Haskell, Meade, Seward and Stevens Counties

Rental Assistance and Security Deposits

  Nate Miller: 620-624-8171

Wyandot Center for Community Behavioral HealthCare, Inc.



                                                     Wyandotte County

Rental Assistance


Sherri Hewitt: 913-288-4211


611 S. Kansas Avenue, Suite 300 Topeka, KS 66603-3803 Voice:785-217-2001 Fax:785-232-8084 TTY:800-766-3777
Contact Us | Site Map | Printable View | © 2008 - 2014 KHRC | Powered by mojoPortal